Home > Uncategorized > You Have Got to be Fucking Kidding Me! (Tax Cuts for the Rich vs. Unemployment)

You Have Got to be Fucking Kidding Me! (Tax Cuts for the Rich vs. Unemployment)


This chart sums it all up quite nicely:

Wow.

First of all – I want to preface this essay with a simple statement: I am not a partisan hack. I am not a “bleeding heart liberal”, hell I’m not even a registered Democrat. In fact, I hate BOTH parties and absolutely LOATHE the two-party system in America. If I had it my way, Ron Paul would be my President and the United States would stand for: Less Government, More Freedom, Fewer Taxes. I am a registered Independent (I) and swear no allegiance to either party. I suppose you could call me a “centrist”, or as Rush Limbaugh calls us, “The Silent Majority.” (ps – FUCK Rush Limbaugh. It’s too bad he didn’t overdose during his oxycontin-fueled whore binges earlier this decade. Blowhard.)

Anyway, the reason I say “wow” is because all I seem to be reading in the paper and hearing on the news is what a fuck-up Obama is and how FAIL the Democrats are. And to to that I say – REALLY!?

The Republicans (most recently under George “Dubya” Bush) had absolutely NO problem whatsoever racking up the national debt to incomprehensible levels to pay for two things: I) Defense. Namely, the Illegal War in Iraq (side note: Yes, Sadaam Hussein was a genocidal despot that deserved to die. No, Iraq did not have WMD’s [the ENTIRE, you know, premise for invading their country.] I think the problem could have been s0lved by creating a Sunni resistance movement funded by the CIA to kill Sadaam, and then install a puppet government to run the show. Just my opinion.) The Legal War in Afghanistan (I hold no opposition to the ouster of the Taliban.) And II.)  Finally, tax cuts for the – wait for it… WEALTHY!

Just how much did these tax cuts for the rich cost our country in tax dollars you ask? $2,480,000,000,000 (yeah, that’s ten [10] zeroes – $2.48 TRILLION dollars!) over a decade (2001-2010.) Mind-boggling.

Now let’s compare that number to how much the recent health care package passed by Congress plus the federal unemployment extension has cost our nation: Health Care Plan – $1,600,000,000,000 ($1.6 Trillion) plus the Federal Unemployment Extension: $66,000,000,000 ($66 Billion dollars [$0.066 trillion].) That comes out to $1.67 trillion COMBINED (health care + federal unemployment extensions [there have been four since 2008.])

Hmm…

Tax cuts for the rich? $2.48 trillion. Unemployment extension for those with NO income? $0.066 trillion ($66 billion.) Nice.

Wars in Iraq and Afghanistan? $948,292,875,212 ($948 Billion dollars) and counting (http://costofwar.com/), and that includes $718 billion for Iraq (which, to date, is an Epic FAIL) and $266 billion to Afghanistan. How much was that health care plan again? Ah yes, $1.6 TRILLION (steep indeed.)

What I’m getting at is the inherent hypocrisy that exists in politics. The Democrats cry foul when the Republicans wage costly wars (which is somewhat justifiable in hindsight) and gives tax breaks to those who need it LEAST, and the Republicans flip their proverbial fucking lids when the Dems shell out for unemployed workers in states like California, Michigan and Nevada, where unemployment is hovering above 12.6% (5.0% is considered “good”) and the REAL rate of unemployment (unemployment rate + those who gave up looking for jobs + part time workers searching for full time jobs) is anywhere between 16 and 20% in most states right now.

Plus the whole health care thing… I’m done talking about. I don’t love it. I don’t hate it. Whatever. The Republicans have no room to bitch over spending, that’s all I’m saying. There is no such thing as a “fiscal conservative” anymore (and if there is, they are un-electable misers like Ross Perot or weird Lebanese-American consumer advocates like Ralph Nader.)

I’m just disgusted right now. I hope this opens some eyes. The whole system is a joke.

For those keeping score: It’s $3.5B for the Republicans and $1.67B for the Democrats. HOWEVER, in the defense of the Republicans, they racked up that debt over the course of 8 years. The Dems have only had 18 months or so.

Cheers.

Post Script: An obligatory quote from my favorite Libertarian –  “Jesus hated bald pussy” – Kingdom of Fear, p. 65-7 – “Who does vote for these dishonest shitheads? Who among us can be happy and proud of having all this innocent blood on our hands? Who are these swine?” – Hunter S. Thompson

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

