Home > Uncategorized > Traffic

Traffic


It doesn’t suck when it’s coming to your blog.

But anyway.

The purpose of this post is to illustrate one of my favorite new restaurants. I was introduced to Wurstküche this weekend by my girlfriend. Situated in the Artist’s District of Los Angeles, this Belgian style eatery is the perfect place to enjoy two of man’s greatest vices: Beer and meat (specifically, Belgian Ale and sausage.)

I had no idea what to expect when my girlfriend took me here. She basically just said, “Get in the car, we’re going out to dinner at this place in LA.” In I went.

When I walked in, there was quite a line; and after taking a look at the selection, I know why:

Heaven.

As you can tell, they don’t fuck around.

M’lady ordered the rattlesnake, rabbit and jalapeno sausage. I wasn’t as brave. I kept it real and got a familiar favorite (Bratwurst.) Although I was enticed by the Spicy Louisiana, and the Alligator & Pork. Some recommendations I got from the locals were the Bacon and Duck with Jalapeno and the Buffalo, Veal and Pork. Also, this place has a pretty awesome vegetarian selection for those who are against “cruelty to animals” or whatever.

As you can tell, it’s exotic and incredible.

What’s better, is the Klein or Groot (small Belgian fries or large Belgian fries.) They’re basically thick-cut skin-on french fries with sea salt, but what makes them amazing is that you’re eating them with a choice selection of incredible German, Belgian and American lagers and ales… And they come with your choice of any two (2) dipping sauces. Some favorites of mine include: Bleu Cheese Walnut & Bacon, Curry Ketchup, Pesto Mayo and Chipotle Aoili (they also have Thai Peanut, Tzatziki, Sundried Tomato Mayo and Sweet and Sassy BBQ.) Fucking amazing.

Wurstküche FTW

They also have a live DJ spinning til midnight. The whole place closes around 1am, so you still have time to hit the liquor store afterward for some beer if you wish to continue the party. I should also mention that the sausages are covered in caramelized onions, sauerkraut (duh), and sweet or spicy peppers (go sweet.) Also, if you’re mustard connoisseur like myself, they have: Spicy, Whole grain, Dijon, Spicy Brown, Honey Mustard or American Yellow (American Yellow… I usually go Spicy Brown, but I just wasn’t feeling it.)

The best part of the meal is this right here:

Bier.

Yeah, there’s a lot on tap. The more modern man (see: the baller) might opt for a limited release Schneider Brooklyner Hopfen Weisse (8.2% ABV 500mL) for $11, or the frugal college guy (see: myself) can get down with a good, old fashioned PBR for $2.50. No matter what it is you order – you win.

Write it down.

Take your girl. Take your boys.

It’s legitimate awesome.

Wurstküche. Purveyor’s of Exotic Grilled Sausages. 800 EAST 3RD STREET LOS ANGELES CA 90013.

I should also mention: I don’t do food reviews on this blog. Unless, of course, it’s bizarre or obscure (see: Rolled Pig’s Face; Meat Hand.) But I made an exception for this place because it was so fucking awesome. Go there. Now. Enjoy it. Thank yourself.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

