Home > Uncategorized > Apparently I Am a Bleeding Heart Liberal (Who Knew?)

Apparently I Am a Bleeding Heart Liberal (Who Knew?)


image_20.xlarge

I wear this shirt to work all the time.

According to both my father, and my girlfriend’s father – I am a “Bleeding Heart Liberal.”

Why, you may ask?

Well, for one I questioned [GASP!] George W. Bush’s foreign policy in front of my father (more specifically, the precedent he was setting by starting a preemptive war with a sovereign nation), and then today I blamed part of America’s current economic crisis on Detroit (specifically, Ford, GM and Chrysler’s inability to build efficient vehicles for Americans.)

Indeed.

Questioning whether or not the United States should attack another country without provocation, and then raise the argument that American industry got its ass handed to it by Japan’s Kaizen makes me a pussy-ass Democrat? I don’t get it.

What’s with Neo-Conservatives and their name-calling?

If someone tells me they believe in God, that they support the troops, or don’t care for Obama’s healthcare reform proposal, I don’t slap them with some villainous tag like “FUCK YOU, MAN! You’re… Y-Y-You’re a Conservative Zealot!!! Brainwashed by O’Reilly and Limbaugh! Dick!!!” That would be childish. It would also be absurd.

I mean, Jesus H. Christ.

For a group of people that enjoy power and prey, it seems that the modern conservative (see: Far-Right Republican) has become awfully defensive.

What annoys me about the whole thing is that I HATE partisan hackery. I hate it. On both sides of the aisle. I hate Rush Limbaugh. I hate Bill Maher. I hate Bill O’Reilly. I hate Ann Coulter. I hate Sean Hannity. I hate Nancy Pelosi. (I do, however, love Jon Stewart, Anderson Cooper and Stephen Colbert.)

Does this make me an ideologue? No. Does it make me a pundit? No. Does it make me someone who enjoys openly debating politics and/or religion? FUCK NO.

I just don’t understand why my father (and so many of my friend’s fathers and their friends) enjoy asking provocative and incendiary questions that are meant to provoke an emotional response and heated political debate (that they love to hijack and turn into an annoying, prolonged, one-sided rant.)

Perhaps they get a sexual satisfaction from screaming “You’re DEAD WRONG! Ya FUCKEN Liberal!!!” Who knows. All I know is that it’s fucking annoying.

This is why I do not disclose who I vote for, and this is why I am registered Independent (I). I belong to no ONE party. I am owned by no one. I believe in no party-line system. Sheesh!

That being said, I’m thinking about voting “YES” on this new bill to outlaw divorce. What they did was replace the phrase “Gay Marriage” from Prop 8 with the word “Divorce.” Brilliant.

So, you want to get divorced in California? GO FUCK YOURSELF. Keep marriage sacred, ya fucking hypocrite. You know, preserve it’s sanctity. Otherwise, overturn prop 8 and go do whatever the fuck you want.

And for the record, it’s not that I’m “PRO GAY”, I’m just anti-majority telling minorities how to run their lives. I mean, I wouldn’t like it if a bunch of Southern racists told me I couldn’t marry a woman of color, in fact, it would piss me the fuck off. I mean, isn’t the point of democracy to protect minorities against the oppression a majority (unless what they’re doing is harmful or unlawful)? Yeah, I think so.

In closing, allow me to say this: If you’re a partisan hack with nothing better to do than regurgitate the hot-button issue of the day that you heard Tom Leikis, er, Rush Limbaugh spit on his radio show this morning, then please go fuck yourself. Also, I hate Pharisees (the religiously hypocritical.) I don’t understand people who snort cocaine and drink beer on Saturday night before date-raping an underage girl at a house party, then go to Church the next morning and call me a “Godless sinner” for going to the beach instead.

Same goes for you guys that listen to Air America and want to tax my income 60% to pay for your stupid-ass and inefficiently run government programs. The DMV sucks. EDD sucks. The Social Security office sucks. Ever been to a County Hospital? It’s a SHIT HOLE. Lay off already and let privatized business do its thing (just make sure there are the proper checks and balance in place to corral corruption and promote efficiency and fair open market trade.) Cool? Cool.

– End Rant –

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. erin
    8 November, 2009 at 23:49

    Hi!
    This is Danny’s girlfriend, and he just told me that you write. I think your blog is absolutely fantastic..

    “And for the record, it’s not that I’m “PRO GAY”, I’m just anti-majority telling minorities how to run their lives. I mean, I wouldn’t like it if a bunch of Southern racists told me I couldn’t marry a woman of color, in fact, it would piss me the fuck off. I mean, isn’t the point of democracy to protect minorities against the oppression a majority (unless what they’re doing is harmful or unlawful)? Yeah, I think so.”

    …genius! Can’t wait to read more.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

