Home > Uncategorized > The Cured, Rolled Pig Face – Mmm Mmm Good!

The Cured, Rolled Pig Face – Mmm Mmm Good!


I found this post on Holy Taco, and immediately thought of my good friend Chandler. My next thought was, “Holy shit, I need to share this with the world.” ‘The world’ of course being the 4 people that follow my blog regularly.

cured_1I. Start with a pig face (do not ask me how to obtain one – although if I had to guess, I’d say you could probably find it at the local carnicería alongside other horrifying meat products.)

cured_2

II. Cure the shit outta the fucker. (Note: ‘Curing’ just means cover it on both sides with salt.)

cured_3

III. Throw in some lemon, thyme, cracked black pepper and ginger. Mmm.

cured_4IV. Roll the face with the tongue and cure this bad boy for five (5) days.

cured_5V. After the five days of curing are complete, unroll this beast and clean it off completely.

cured_6

VI. Remove any hairs that have been left behind (shave the maw fucka!)

cured_7

VII. Remove ears and julienne them (Note: “Julienning” is a French word for “slicing thinly into long strips.”) Next,dice the tongue and add thyme, microplane ginger and lemon.

cured_8

VIII. Roll it all up!

cured_9

IX. Wrap in a cheese cloth.

cured_10

X. Cook sous vide-style (I have no idea how you’d get the equipment necessary for this style of cooking, but whatever)  for 72 hours at 150° F.

cured_11

XI. Cut it open and behold its deliciousness!

cured_12

XII. As the website I got this from suggests – slice it up, and serve with mustard and beer! Mmm.

Question: If I were to have served you this at a tapas party, would you have eaten it? My guess is that you’d answer “yes.” It’s just like the “Sausage Factor.” If you don’t know how your food is made – then you’re free to enjoy it in all of its endless deliciousness!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

