Home > Uncategorized > After Six Long Years: Redemption!

After Six Long Years: Redemption!


csuf-logo-horiz-4c

I am a senior at California State University, Fullerton (Formerly Orange County State Univ.) This is my seventh and final year of school. Over the course of the past 6 years I have applied for financial aid, and been subsequently denied. Year after year, denial after denial. But I am pleased to announce that I have just been awarded a full ride for my last year! Yes, an awesome financial aid rep at my university’s financial aid office saw that I have amassed over $34,000 in debt paying for school over the last 6 years, and took it upon herself to make sure that I didn’t have to worry about costs this year.

I am so stoked.

I would like to note that the following circumstances helped me qualify for a full ride:

  • I am 24 years old, and thus considered independent by the California State University system. Despite the fact that I’ve been “independent” since age 17, the State doesn’t formally recognize an individual as completely independent of their parents until age 24.
  • I have (somehow) maintained respectable grades despite mostly working full-time and not having a car for two long stretches (5, and 9 months respectively) during my tenure as a student.
  • I am receiving unemployment benefits, and qualify as a “dislocated worker”
  • I was evicted from my house in Fullerton two months ago, and am classified as a “hardship case”

It’s basically the perfect storm of fucked up events, a poor economy, and crushing debt that has finally set me free!

Thank you, California State University system! Now that I don’t have to worry about how I’m going to pay for my education, I think I just might finally get that elusive 4.0!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

