Home > Uncategorized > Weekly Round-Up

Weekly Round-Up


Someone awesome posted Tangents & the Times’ Marissa A. Ross’s pretentious “Thief Promotional Video” on latfh.com (Look at This Fucking Hipster.com.) I love the tagline under the video: “The key to promoting Vietnam-themed Apocalypse art shows is my own brand of narcissistic drunken blathering.” The reason I’m posting this is because I’ve been telling that broad that she’s a hipster for years, only to have her scoff at my claims.

American Hipster

American Hipster

But look, if you:

a.) Live in Echo Park, Los Feliz, Silverlake

b.) Listen to bands like “Fuck Buttons”

c.) Wear “ironic” Nike pumps (extra points if they’re neon) from the 90’s

d.) Make shitty youtube videos highlighting your elitist hipster ideology

then you’re a fucking hipster. Just saying.

Check out http://www.latfh.com, then check out her open letter to the webmaster on her site (see link to the right.)

In other news:

The Standard hotel in Los Angeles has become the first place in America where you can purchase boardshorts from a vending machine ($75.) Quiksilver has teamed up with the hipster locale to bring back their retro fit boardshorts. The Standard hosts a popular pool party every Sunday, so the promotion makes sense. They come in four (4) styles, one for each of the Standard’s four locations:

Downtown Los Angeles

Downtown Los Angeles

Miami

Miami

New York City

New York City

Hollywood

Hollywood

My personal favorite is the “Hollywood”, but every girl I’ve talked to has told me they’re ugly. All the chicks I’ve shown this to are into the “Miami.” The Miami would be cool if surf wax didn’t destroy white boardshorts. Oh well.

Update: Five days ago, I posted a blog detailing my exploits in poverty. Well, I am pleased to announce that I began receiving unemployment again, applied for a financial position at a high-profile healthcare agency, and have initiated contact with a client on a huge group coverage program which could potentially net me tens of thousands of dollars. Aint it nice how quickly things turn around?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. jules
    26 September, 2009 at 20:19

    no one understands me but Morrissey,
    no one understands Morrissy but me.

  2. the stars are legit
    24 August, 2009 at 22:01

    as long as they’re not nautical, i think you’re golden. but you’re also stupid for spending $75 on new vintage-styled man-shorts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

