Home > Uncategorized > Coming Down, Part II

Coming Down, Part II


So it’s a slippery slope, obviously. One or two pain pills a day to ease the chronic pain in my face and back quickly turns into 10 or 20 a day. And trust me, that adds up to a lot of money. So where does that leave  you? You can continue to destroy your liver and bank account, or you can make the decision to quit.

Well, ladies and gentlemen, quitting isn’t as easy as you may think. The withdrawls from opiate addiction are horrendous. Opiate withdrawl is quite simply the most difficult and horrible ordeal I’ve ever been through in my life.

You can’t sleep at night, you’re in constant pain. Every single joint in your body aches, your head throbs in enormous pain. On top of that, you have hot and cold flashes, sweat profusely, vomit regularly, and have absolutely no appetite whatsover. So when your body goes to vomit, you just dry heave. In addition to all this, you’re extremely irritable and sometimes violent. I’ve found myself punching metal light poles, head-butting walls, slamming my face into the ground as I lie fully-clothed in a cold shower. You basically go insane, lose control of your bodily functions, and experience tremendous amounts of pain.

And once it all ends? The pain remains. And what are the alternatives? Costly visits to the chiropractor, expensive acupuncture treatment, eastern medicine? It all costs money, and it’s all a lot more work than simply swallowing a little pill and having the pain go away.

Being addicted to prescription pain medication is horrible. And it’s incredible how many Americans are addicted to pills such as vicodin, oxycontin, percocet and loratab. You’re a step a above a junkie in the eyes of public perception, but you might as well be the same. You’re both getting high off opiates, and destroying your body in the process. Plus my friends who have successfully beaten heroin addiction have told me the withdrawls are very similar.

It’s a tough predicament to be in, especially in my early twenties. This pain will be with me for the rest of my life, and I’m either going to have to learn to deal with it, or forever be dependent on painkillers. That’s my harsh reality.

When you hear about “punitive damages” in civil court cases, this is what they’re punishing the defendent for. The asshole that smashed my skull and shattered my jaw, cheek and eye orbit doesn’t have to live with this pain and addiction – I do. The worst part is, the detectives that were  handling the case never filed charges, and I was back-stabbed by two self-serving bitches with no moral compass (Lisa and Stephanie – Last names withhled.) They decided not to testify, and warned the guy who did it to get his story straight. Because of them, he was never even arrested.

A lot of people ask me if I want revenge. The answer is no. I don’t want to go find this guy. I don’t want to pay someone to “take care of him”, and I don’t expect anybody to do anything to him if they ever seen him in public.

Me, on the other hand, I just might. Wouldn’t it be ironic if I ran into this guy, smashed HIS face, and then went to jail for it. That’s usually the way it works. He gets away with attempted murder, and I retaliate after being hung out to dry by the legal system. Vigilante justice… unaccetpable under the eyes of the law. But what do you do if you’re me? Keep on living your life and forgive him? Well, for now I have. But you never know what the future might hold.

Corey Andreason. Age 23. Hometown: Huntington Beach, CA. Got away with attempted murder. Lucky guy.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. tim
    9 August, 2009 at 10:52

    dude addiction sucks. go green.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

